MICHAEL LINGTON

Saxophone

Saxophonist Michael Lington is a native of Denmark. It was in 1990 that Lington moved to Los Angeles, becoming a U.S. citizen in 2008. He got his musical start in Bobby Caldwell’s band and later toured for three years with jazz and R&B legend Randy Crawford. The saxophonist has always been first-call for musical superstars. He’s opened arena shows for Barry Manilow and recently spent 18 months on tour with Grammy Award-winning singer Michael Bolton as his special guest.

Lington has been a familiar face on contemporary jazz since his self titled major-label debut in 1997. In 2008 he released “Heat”, which reached Top 5 on Billboard’s Contemporary Jazz chart and was chosen as JazzTrax’s Album of the Year. The lead track “You and I” was a No. 1 single, making it his 11th radio hit.

For his seventh CD “Pure” (2012), saxophonist Michael Lington returns to the basics for an organic, soul-jazz project that recalls the glory days of muscular contemporary jazz unburdened by pop constraints. The first single “Roadtrip”, which is produced and written by Lington and Brian Culbertson, is among most added and played songs at contemporary and smooth jazz radio and has a guest appearance by Lee Ritenour – the single hit #3 at the Billboard Jazz Song Charts.

www.michaellington.com

Listen to Michael Lington on YouTube.de:

back to Artists & Music

MICHAEL LINGTON

Saxophon

Saxofonist Michael Lington stammt aus Dänemark. 1990 zog es ihn nach Los Angeles zog und wurde 2008 amerikanischer Staatsbürger. Den Einstieg ins Musikgeschäft schaffte er in Bobby Caldwell’s Band und später tourte er drei Jahre mit Jazz und R&B-Legende Randy Crawford. Der Saxophonist war schon immer erste Wahl für musikalische Superstars: er eröffnete Shows für Barry Manilow und war bis vor kurzem mit dem Sänger Michael Bolton (mehrfacher Grammy-Gewinner) 18 Monate auf Welttournee, als Stargast dessen Show.

Lington ist seit seinem Debüt-Album im Jahr 1997 ein bekanntes Gesicht im Contemporary Jazz. Im Jahr 2008 veröffentlichte er “Heat”, das Album erreichte die Top5 der Billboard Contemporary Jazz Charts und wurde von JazzTrax zum “Album des Jahres” gewählt. Der Titeltrack “You and I” wurde zum Nr. 1 Hit (sein 11. Radiohit).

Seine siebte CD “Pure” (2012) ist ein Soul-Jazz-Projekt und erinnert an die glorreichen Tage des muskulösen Contemporary Jazz, unbelastet von den Pop-Zwängen heutiger Tage. Die erste Single “Roadtrip”, die produziert und geschrieben von Lington und Brian Culbertson, zählt zu den meistgespielten Songs im Contemporary und Smooth Jazz-Radio und präsentiert sich mit einem Gastauftritt von Gitarrist Lee Ritenour. Die Single erreichte den 3. Platz der Billboard Jazz Song Charts.

www.michaellington.com

Hörproben von Michael Lington auf YouTube.de:

zurück zu Künstler & Musik